LOS logo

LeeAnne Tucker
Area Agency on Aging Director


For free, confidential help any time of the day.

Aging Advisory Council

Being a designated Area Agency on Aging, by the North Carolina Division of Aging and Adult Services (DAAS), we are guided by the Older Americans Act.  It requires that we have an advisory board with a certain make-up of community representatives.

Our Advisory Council has up to 18 members representing all four counties.  At least 51% of the members must be 55+ in age.  Included in the member listing are a representative from the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).  An elected official from the LOSRC Council also serves on the Advisory Council.  The Chair of the Area Agency on Aging Advisory Council serves on the LOSRC Council.

The Advisory Council usually meets quarterly on the second Thursday of the month from 10:00 am - 12:00 pm, location to be determined.  These meetings are held in January, April, July and October.

If you are interested in becoming an Aging Advisory Council member, please contact LeeAnne Tucker.


Aging Advisory Council Members

Buncombe County

Name Affiliation
Charles Dickens - Chair Community Member
Gene Knoefel Senior Tar Heel Delegate
Bob Tomasulo BC ACH CAC, BC Council on Aging Board Director, BC ACC, CRC Leadership Team, RSVP Volunteer
Celeste Selwyn Community Member
Susan Schiemer Community Member

Henderson County

Name Affiliation
Patricia Stanley HC ACH/NH CAC
Calvin Titus Senior Tar Heel Delegate, HC HCCBG, HC ACH/NH CAC
Derek Parris Premier Home Health Care Services

Madison County

Name Affiliation
Robert Ford Family Caregiver Support Program Committee Member
LinDa Campbell Community Member

Transylvania County

Name Affiliation
Delores Stroup - Vice Chair Senior Tar Heel Delegate, TC ACH/NH CAC
Kathe Harris Community Member
Carol Mackusick Community Member


Name Affiliation
Penny James Veteran's Administration Representative
Gaylyn Justice TD Bank, Volunteer Advisory Chair