Land of Sky Regional Council December 5, 2018 Regular Meeting



Please mute all electronic devices, including cell phones, laptops, tablets, and recorders. <u>Delegates are</u> requested to state their names when moving on orders of business. Thank you!

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order (1:00pm)
- II. Invocation
- III. Pledge of Allegiance
- IV. Modification and Approval of Agenda
- V. Public Comment
- VI. Chair's Comments and Roundtable
- VII. 2018 Awards Announcements and Presentations
 - A. Robert E. Shepherd Excellence in Local Government Award
 - B. Charles H. Campbell Regional Leadership Award
 - C. Robert G. Parrish, Sr. Intergovernmental Relations Award

VIII. Adjournment

Our Holiday Open House will immediately follow the Board of Delegates meeting. If you can, please stay to see what is going on with our programs, visit with staff, and enjoy some tasty desserts!



THE CHARLES H. CAMPBELL REGIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD

The award was established in 1983 in the name of the four-time Council Chair and long-time Brevard Mayor.

Past Campbell Regional Leadership Award Recipients

- 1984 Roy M. Trantham, Asheville
- 1985 William M. Ives, Transylvania County
- 1986 James T. Ledford, Madison County
- 1987 John J. Carter, Laurel Park
- 1988 Norma T. Price, Asheville
- 1990 Cornelius Hunt, Brevard
- 1992 Fran Waser, Transylvania County
- 1993 Gene Rainey, Buncombe County
- 1995 Vollie G. Good, Henderson County
- 2000 Robert F. Parrish, Sr., Fletcher
- 2001 Fred H. Niehoff, Jr., Hendersonville
- 2003 Jerry Plemmons, Madison County
- 2004 David Gantt, Buncombe County
- 2004 Eliza Graue, Flat Rock
- 2005 Raymond D. Miller, Transylvania County
- 2007 Charles "Pal" Grimes, Biltmore Forest
- 2008 Rodney Locks, Brevard
- 2009 Eddie Fox, Madison County
- 2010 Chuck McGrady, Henderson County
- 2012 Joe McKinney, Past Land of Sky Executive Director
- 2015 Phil Monk, Land of Sky/Mountain Area Workforce Development
- 2016 George Goosmann, Biltmore Forest
- 2017 Dr. Charles Dickens, Land of Sky Board of Delegates/Regional Aging Advisory Council

THE ROBERT G. PARRISH INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS AWARD

The award was established in 2000 in the name of the past Council Chair and long-time Fletcher Mayor.

Past Parrish Intergovernmental Relations Award Recipients

- 2001 Fred H. Niehoff, Jr., Hendersonville
- 2002 C. Thomas Sobol, Jr., Buncombe County
- 2003 James Westbrook, Asheville
- 2004 Arthur "Artie" Wilson, Transylvania County
- 2005 Rep. Ray Rapp, Madison County
- 2006 Rep. Wilma Sherrill, Buncombe County
- 2007 Chris Carter, Hendersonville
- 2008 David Young, Buncombe County
- 2009 Rep. Trudi Walend, Transylvania County
- 2010 Mark Burrows, Transylvania County
- 2012 Letta Jean Taylor, Montreat
- 2015 Bob Davy, Fletcher

THE ROBERT E. SHEPHERD EXCELLENCE IN LOCAL GOVERNMENT AWARD

The award was established in 2015 in the name of Land of Sky's first Executive Director who served the organization for more than 30 years.

Past Shepherd Excellence in Local Government Award Recipients

- 2016 Robert E. Shepherd, First Land of Sky Executive Director
- 2017 Susan Frady, Hendersonville



Join us at our offices to:

MEET THE STAFF LEARN ABOUT SERVICES & FUNDING OPPORTUNITIES TOUR THE BUILDING

> Enjoy: **LIGHT HOR DOURVES** DESSERT WALK HOLIDAY DOOR DECORATIONS

BRING A BOOK, HAT, SCARF, GLOVES, OR SOCKS

Every year Land of Sky staff participate in a service project for the holidays in one of our four counties. This year Madison County will benefit from staff donating books to a new Bookmobile and warm weather gear to the county's senior centers.

The Book Drive is for a new bookmobile that has been created from an old activity bus that was donated from the Madison County School System's bus garage. Many children in the county do not have books at home. The bookmobile will provide new and gently used books to children as a gift. If you'd like to donate, please bring books for children ranging in age from 2-14 years old.

The Warm Weather Gear is for seniors in the county in need of extra protection from the cold months coming up. If you'd like to contribute, please bring hats, gloves, scarves, and socks.

